Mundane to Melbourne

the post where I talk about my first Australian city

I MADE IT TO AUSTRALIAAAAAA

I had been waiting for this day for so long. If you’re from the UK, then you’ll probably know that so many people go to Australia for a gap year after they finish sixth form/college before uni. I am just as cliche as everyone else.

 

Flight: $550 AUD from Heathrow to Melbourne via Delhi with AirIndia

Hostel: $24 a night at All Nations Backpackers which included wifi, pancakes for breakfast and pasta/rice

Transfer: $17 from Melbourne airport to the coach station

Phone: $30 a month on Optus (should’ve gone with Testra!!!)

Bank: ANZ (set up before landing in Aus, so my card was ready for collection)

 

Melbourne 1
Melbourne street art

 

I was in Melbourne for 5/6 days, and it was pretty much a blue. This was a mix of jet lag and utter confusion that I’m alone in a completely new country.

In all honesty I didn’t do a lot in Melbourne now I think about it, as a lot of that week was planning the rest of my East Coast journey.

I booked it all through MAD travel that was connected to my hostel, and I actually got a pretty good deal. I believe I paid around $1800 AUD:

  • overnight coach from Melbourne to Sydney (12 hours)
  • 3 months Greyhound hop on hop off coach pass from Sydney to Cairns
  • Neighbours tour
  • Featherdale Wildlife Park
  • Blue Moutains
  • Fraser Island (3 days 2 nights with Nomads)
  • Whitsundays (2 days 2 nights with Ride to Paradise)
  • 4 nights accomdation
  • 10 nights Base accomdation card

This package had pretty much everything I wanted to do on the East Coast, minus a skydive and Cape Tribulation.. but you can easily purchase those separately.

 

Melbourne 2Melbourne 3Melbourne 4

 

Accomadation:

All Nations Backpackers, 2 Spencer Street, Melbourne. $24 for a 8 dorm mixed room. Free pancakes 8am-10am, free rice, pasta, tea and coffee. Free wifi in the communal areas from 7am-7pm. Ubar next door.

 

Transport:

Free tram line runs from outside the hostel to the CBD and a 20 walk to CBD.

 

Food:

Coles and Woolies are only a 15 minute walk away from the hostel. 7/11 just next door, but that’s quite expensive to be getting regular shopping. Dominoes just around the corner ($5.95 for a basic pizza, yaassss).

 

Activities:

Neighbours tour (highly recommend.. however if you aren’t too fussed about seeing the set, then you can just drive to the street yourself, but there is security guard permanently on the street)

Penguin Island is just a short ferry ride away where wild penguin are seen on the beach

Luna Park is a massive world famous theme park that is free entry, but rides are priced individually once inside

St Kilda beach is just next to Luna Park, about a 20 minute tram ride from the CBD. If you go down the pier at sunset then you can often see miniture penguins who live in the rocks.

The Botanical Gardens are a lovely free activity where you can chill and have a picnic.

 

I wasn’t in Melbourne for long so I didn’t get to see many things, but the time I did spend there was lovely. Even though it is Australia and it is summer in December, Melbourne is one of the cooler cities, so make sure you have a cardigan or jumper for the evenings.

 

around the world in endless days

2 thoughts on “Mundane to Melbourne”

Leave a Reply

